Massachusetts | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
We filed bankruptcy in April and credit has filed a Complaint Objecting to Dischargeability of Debt? What needs to be filed to contest this complaint? We don't have the funds to hire an attorney and we will have to try to contest this ourselves.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Baker |
Doing this yourself is an EXTREMELY BAD IDEA. You cannot possibly handle this on your own. It is bad enough to file bankruptcy without a lawyer in the first place, but when a creditor files this sort of complaint, the creditor's success on this sort of complaint makes the whole point of filing bankruptcy a waste of time. If you really don't have the money to hire an attorney, contact the Volunteer Lawyers Project in Boston; they have a list of attorneys who have agreed to help people for no fee, even in bankruptcy cases. Also, I think that if you talk to a few attorneys, you might find one who would help you for a reduced fee and/or for payment over time. You should do this immediately, as the time for you to respond to the complaint is very short, and if you don't respond on time, you could lose automatically. You can call me to discuss this if you want, but call someone RIGHT AWAY! |
Top Attorneys in MA
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of David Baker
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 219
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-04
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Office of Robert R. Trant
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 181
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-03
The Law Office of John W. Harmon
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Law Office of Daniel Gindes
Salem, MA
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-20
Law Office of Barry R. Levine
Beverly, MA
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-16
Search Questions and Answers


