California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
i filed chapter 7 and the levying office is holding 213 from my garnishment, what do i need to file in order to get the money awarded to me
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Carl Starrett |
You need to the list the garnished amount on Schedule B of your bankruptcy papers, claim it a exempt on Schedule C and file a motion with the court under Section 522(f) of the Bankruptcy Code. You motion needs to be served on the judgment creditor, their attorney of record if they have one and on the levying officer. if the court grants your motion, the order must be served on the levying officer.
This process is a lot more complicated than it sounds. If you hire an attorney, the legal fees would definitely exceed the amount of recover. You also have to consider the value of your time to research the proper procedure and going to court as any time off from work, you may find that it is not worth the effort for $213. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


