California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
In the final appelate and/or supreme court ruling, did res judicata apply in Vella v. Hodgins?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Roach |
Do you mean Vella v. Hudgins (1977) 20 Cal.3d 251?
The key holding in that case is that a judgment in an unlawful detainer proceeding has a very limited res judicata effect and will not prevent one who is dispossessed from real property from bringing a subsequent action to resolve questions of title. The issue in that case was whether Nancy Vella had her "day in court" in the unlawful detainer action as to issues of fraud. The California Supreme Court ruled that the record failed to show that she had a fair hearing on the fraud issues, and the municipal court (now unlimited jurisdiction of Superior Court) did not have jurisdiction to hear and adjudicaqte title to property worth more than $5,000. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10408
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


