California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I am a Financial Controller. My ex-employer is telling vendors lies about me and my performance on the job, lies that can affect my career. For example, there was a severe cash-flow problem during my employment, as the owners refused to put funding or financing into the company. I had very little cash to pay bills; I was very forthright with the vendors about it. After I left, the owners starting emailing vendors that I had racked up $360,000 in debt without telling them. I have numerous emails from these employers proving these lies are in fact false. I can prove they knew and that they refused to help. Do I have a possible case for defamation per se?


