Legal Question in Discrimination Law in California

I was fired in the same week that I became vested for refusing to retire. I am 66 years old. In late 2011, I requested information from HR about eligibility for any early retirement pension benefits. They told me that I might be eligible for a benefit in mid-2012. Half a year later, I asked for more specific information as to what the benefit might possibly be. Somewhere in this process, they decided they would retire me on the first eligible date because they were “overstaffed.” A couple of weeks ago, I reviewed the pension payout documents and realized I couldn’t live on their paltry pension so I declined to retire. They said I MUST retire. They then tried to fire me for an unexcused absence, demanded that I quit, then finally just fired me for “attitude.”

They told the unemployment office that I quit because I “was eligible to retire.”

Now, I’ve got no job, no retirement and no unemployment benefits. BTW, I was told I was no longer needed and my replacement was to be a much less qualified 35 year-old.

Any suggestions?

Asked on 8/01/12, 2:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roy Kohler Law Offices of Roy Kohler
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Contact a Wrongful Termination attorney in your area.

Read more
Answered on 8/01/12, 3:22 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now