Texas | Veterans Law
Legal Question
How can I force the VA to give me a disability rating?
The VA has been delaying my claim for asinine excuses for more than 454 days.
How can I force the VA to give me a disability rating?
The VA has been delaying my claim for asinine excuses for more than 454 days.
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Williamson |
You cannot "force" the VA to give you a disability rating, like it's your right to have one! They have people that review your medical records to determine if you should have any disability rating, then, if you're found to be disabled, they will assign a percentage rating to your disability. Once you have the percent that you're disabled, then your payment is according to that percentage rating. Tables of such disability benefit payments can be found at the VA web site.
What might help you along is to have your condition evaluated by your own, private doctor. A private doctor's evaluation is typically given more weight than that of a VA doctor. Submitting such a private doctor evaluation may, then, help your case.
However, I would NOT, if I were you, cop an attitude with the VA.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Jill Mitchell |
You should talk with a veteran service office or call/write the regional office to find out what the delay is. Time really seems to stand still in their world. Have they told you they were going to schedule you for exams? Contrary to the other answer here, the VA does not typically give more weight to private doctors' opinions than those of their own. I have seen them base denials on a one sentence opinion from a VA physician's assistant even though the veteran had provided a supportive report from his treating M.D. Just keep demanding a decision (politely) so you can move forward. Good luck. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 922
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 325
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-20
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 132
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-08
Willis, TX
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-26
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-19
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-27
► Is there any help or laws or anything that helps service connected disabled veterans...
► I am the widow of a100% service connected disabled (medically retired from the/by US...
► I was discharged from the navy with a general discharge under honorable conditions....
► I was recently honorably discharged from the military after 3 1/2 years for medical...
► I filed for a disability claim in 1988 after I was discharged. In 2009 I refiled on...
► Veterans appeals How long does it take a judge at the CAVC to render a decision...
► VA Disability I was honorably discharge from the Air Force in 1985 with loss of...
More Veterans Law questions and answers in Texas| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press