Indiana | Construction Law
2/26/11, 12:21 pm
Legal Question
How do I forclose on a comercial property I have a mechanics lien on in Indiana?
How do I forclose on a comercial property I have a mechanics lien on in Indiana?
|
Read More Answered By: Burton Padove |
You file a foreclosure complaint against all entitities and persons who may have an interest in the property. |
|
Read More Answered By: Raymond Basile |
You should also be aware that you have only one year from the date on which you record the Mechanic's Lien to file a lawsuit to foreclose upon it. If you do not, the Mechanic's Lien is voided automatically and you cannot foreclose on it. Note also that while relatively uncommon, an owner has a right to send you notice demanding that you foreclose on the Mechanic's Lien or release it within 30 days. If you receive such a letter, you must foreclose not within 1 year, but instead within 30 days of the letter or else the Mechanic's Lien is voided and cannot be foreclosed upon.
This response is provided for informational purposes and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult with an attorney or tax professional to discuss the facts of your particular situation which may lead to additional issues or a different strategy.
|
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 288
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-23
Dyer, IN
Questions Answered: 170
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Dyer, IN
Questions Answered: 113
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-23
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-22
Miller Beach, IN
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Libertyville, IL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► What is it called when owner prevents contractor from finishing job?
► Both me and my wife is being sued in small claim court. can we send a lawyer and...
► I am a contractor in Indianapolis, IN and I did some work for a couple of client...
► I am in Indiana and own a construction company which is a LLC I would like to...
► I am a contractor that is being threatened of a law suit based on improper...
► What minimum percentage of area does a builder needs to provide for aminities?
► Are you legally binded to pay a contractor - if you only signed a Proposal for work...
More Construction Law questions and answers in Indiana| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press