Minnesota | Criminal Law
9/19/11, 6:55 am
Legal Question
I had the forestlake police drop off a complaint but there no arrest warrent am I required to turn myself i'n thank you
I had the forestlake police drop off a complaint but there no arrest warrent am I required to turn myself i'n thank you
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas C. Gallagher |
When a prosecutor prepares a criminal Complaint, they either request the court for a Summons, or an Arrest Warrant. If police dropped off a Complaint, it may have a Summons with it. A Summons will normally have a court date, time and location. Typically, if there is a Summons in a criminal case, it is mailed with a copy of the Complaint. If police show up in person, that is more commonly associated with their execution of an Arrest Warrant. I would not expect them to leave a copy of an Arrest Warrant. If in doubt, you could call the county Sheriff's office (warrant division if they have one), and Court Administration for the court in whatever county it is. You need not turn yourself unless there is an Arrest Warrant. You might want to call a criminal lawyer (like me) to discuss further if you have other questions. |
|
Read More Answered By: Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 |
You are not required to turn yourself in unless there is a warrant for your arrest. If the complaint was delivered to you, a warrant is unlikely and your complaint should identify the date, time and location of your first hearing.
For a FREE consultation call 612.240.8005 |
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Fargo, ND
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
North St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 98
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-19
► I live in MN and am 18. I have been charged with a minor liquor consumption. How...
► What do I do if i've been given an extention to retain a lawyer, and have court this...
► My father is 90 years old and he was recently hospitalized for an illness. While he...
► I was arrested for having drugs ($50 dollars worth of meth & a pipe) I was...
► I was charged with a gross misdemeanor possesion of stolen property october of 2010...
► A search warrant was excuted 8 weeks ago at our residence, we were not home at the...
► Friday august 20th i was at my cousins house when her ex boyfriend broke in and beat...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Minnesota| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press