New York | Investment Law
Legal Question
If I form an investment fund as a limited liability company, do I also need to form a one-person LLC to serve as the management company (and protect me from personal liability)?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Roman Fichman Esq. |
As a member of a LLC you already enjoy a limited liability status, so one does not 'need' to form another LLC to be protected. There are, however, certain instances where forming a secondary LLC could be beneficial. You did not mention what is the nature of the fund, how many other parties will be involved and the type of investments that the entity will be making. These factors may necessiate the formation of a secondary LLC or a sturture commonly known as series LLC. In addition, great consideration should be given to whether you will be compensated via distributions, salary or both.
Since, as an investor, you are likely risking a substantial amount of money it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney admitted to practice in New York to fully flesh these issues.
Feel free to contact my office at your earliest convenience.
Roman R. Fichman, Esq. www.TheLegalist.com │ @TheLegalist email: Info (at) TheLegalist (dot) com t e l : 2 1 2 -- 3 3 7 -- 9 8 3 7
Disclaimer: This posting has been written for educational purposes only and was not meant to be legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. You should always consult an attorney admitted to practice in your jurisdiction for specific advice.
IRS CIRCULAR 230 DISCLOSURE: To ensure compliance with requirements imposed by the IRS, we inform you that any tax advice contained in this communication (including any attachments) was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, for the purpose of (i) avoiding tax-related penalties under the Internal Revenue Code or (ii) promoting, marketing or recommending to another party any matters addressed herein. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Law Practice of Roman Fichman Esq.
Manhattan, NY
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LAW OFFICES OF SHAHRIAR KASHANIAN, ESQ.,
Manhasset, NY
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Ziegler, Ziegler & Associates LLP
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-13
Search Questions and Answers


