Illinois  |  Technology Law

question bubble
11/16/11, 9:39 am

Legal Question


I forwarded to my home email from my companies Email system mainly to provide a backup in the event the corporate system failed. In order to make it easier, I dumped all the emails into a Excel document and sent that home (instead of having to hunt and peck for emails that I felt I needed to save). My company became aware that I sent these Emails home. I met with our secuirty people and their main concerns were that I may have accidentally included sensitive email and sent that in a non-encrypted fashion. I believe they were also concened that I may have had ulterior motives to send those emails home. After we talked I believed they were more comfortable that I had no ulterior motives but still indicated I should not have sent them home. Legally, how wrong was what I did and can they fire me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search