California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/23/11, 5:23 pm

Legal Question


I founded a company 10 years ago, invested $700,000 (my life savings) and later brought in an investor/ partner (who I trusted implicitly). He (a lawyer) and his legal team acted as if they were counseling me legally and tricked me (lied and misled) to sign documents that basically gave them total rights to the entire company (including books I wrote, 250 products I designed, all trademarks and IP and $4 million worth of inventory. They didn't pay the severance they had agreed to in writing. They violated several of the American Bar Association's Rules of Conduct. They left me with nothing but a 12 mo. non-compete that scared off other investors who wanted to start a new business with me. I lost everything, 10 years worth of creative work, my life savings, my income, my home and my car. I had to go live with a friend and my boys are temporarily with their dad until I can afford a home again. I have no money to sue them plus it would be stupid to sue lawyers. I have been told that filing a legal malpractice grievance might scare their insurance carrier into paying me a settlement. Is that true? If so, what approach would be most effective? Lorle


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search