Florida | Consumer Law
Legal Question
FPL's policy that accounts establishing a slow or late payment record, be required to have a security deposit equivalent to twice the average monthly bill. They are demanding a $410 deposit from us. Bearing in mind that I have 3 kids in college and a husband that was unemployed for six months last year, juggling bills and trying to keep afloat was obviously challenging but quite frankly I can't afford to put $410 upfront at this point but can say that being in a better situation now, I can (at last) now keep up with payment due dates. Question is: If I don't pay the deposit, can FPL legally shut off my power, particularly as my "usage" payments are up to date?


