California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
2/24/11, 9:37 pm

Legal Question


My friend she came to the US on an H4 visa through her husband from the philippines, which should be valid through some time in july 2011. Her husband was seeing another woman & he decided he wanted to divorce her to marry this other woman. He forged her signature on the divorce papers & she was never officially notified of the divorce. Her now ex-in-laws found out about the divorce & mailed her a copy of the divorce papers. Since it has been well over 60 days from the date of the final decree is she now illegal in the US? Since the divorce papers were forged what sort of action can be taken & what will happen to her since her visa is up in less than 6 months? Will she be deported? What if she has a new-found love who is a US citizen & would like to marry him, would she be able to stay in the US?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search