California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/15/12, 11:44 am

A friend of mine has a felony from 5 years ago for theft. Computers were stolen from a company and subsequently returned, but the judge still ordered him to pay back the full value of the merchandise ($60k). He was not able to do so so they worked out a deal to pay the probation dept. $50/month. Probation ends in a few months and he's wondering if they will try to collect the full amount or dismiss it after then. Doesn't it seem odd to have to pay when the original stolen merch was returned unharmed?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search