Michigan  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
7/18/11, 12:40 pm

Legal Question


My friend and I signed a lease a few months ago and we have not moved in yet. Part of the lease states that our income must meet a certain requirement or we must have a guarantor. However, neither of us meet the income requirement nor do we have a guarantor. The apartment complex is now telling us that our only options are to find people to be our guarantors or find people to re-let the apartment. If we do not do this they said that we would not be allowed to move in but will still be held responsible for the rent. Are they allowed to make us pay and not let us live there even though we have not fulfilled every requirement on the lease? I also know that they have already signed the lease as well so doesn't that make them obligated to provide us with a room?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search