California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
1/09/12, 5:42 pm

Legal Question


My friend signed for a month to month apartment rental. The home was unsafe and the repairs weren't made before she was to move in. Also a registered sex offender at the address, which was not disclosed to her verbally or in written form. The landlord now is playing phone tag an says she will return all of the money but that she doesn't have it, she claims she have it to her attorney. She refuses to give us her attorneys name or any info but says when he contacts her she will contact us, but it's been over a week of trying to get ahold of her and she always responds with "oh tomorrow for sure, I haven't talked to him today" and she never calls back. The total paid was $1850. I know it can be taken to small Claims but we have no info on her and were wondering if we had other options or if something could be done so my friend wouldn't have to actually go to court. PLEASE HELP


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search