California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
2/22/11, 7:09 pm

Legal Question


I am a gay 41 year old woman and an Assistant Manager of a major retail establishment. I have a registered domestic partnership with my partner of almost 5 years. We live in California.

The comment was made to a Customer Service Specialist (CSS) by an Asociate Manager. I was approached by one of my employees (CSS), because a comment was made about me.

The comment made to the CSS was, "I can't believe that fuc*ing lesbian dyke is coming back to this store!" The Associate Manager continues making comments about me.

I was recently transferred back to this store for additional training and the other Assistant Manager was transferred to the store I came from.

The CSS wanted to let the Store Manager know, so we both had a meeting with her to let her know what the Associate Manager said. If the Store Manager does not take any corrective action, do I have a legal case for sexual harassment?

I would have said that the Associate Manager and I were friends. I am shocked that she made this comment about me and I am concerned the Store Manager will not do anything about this.

Something needs to be done.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search