Texas  |  Family Law

question bubble
2/08/12, 6:08 am

Legal Question


My girlfriend is being charged with a Class A misdemeanor (22.01 (a)(1) in Texas

Her 4 yr old son (at the time) was tossing a baseball up in the air inside the house. Her brother has an autographed baseball and thought the ball he was playing with was that very one. Her brother chased her son around the house trying to catch her son to take the baseball away. He caught her son son and took the ball away. While the ball was gripped in his hand(brother) he hit her son on the head leaving a knot. Her son went running up the stairs to tell mom what happened and her brother came running up the stairs right behind him. She pushed her brother away in protection of her and her son to get him away from them and in doing so he dramatically falls down the stairs.

To get even after all the times his sister called the cops on him. He decided to call the cops as well. Long story short the cops came took stories. However it was not taken properly to what really happened. The report was taken that the two had been arguing and cussing at each other. when her brother turned to talk down the stairs that she pushed him from behind ( which isn't the right story). None of the real reason why she pushed him away for safety of her son was put in writing.

She does not have the money for a private lawyer so they appointed her a free one. However he doesn't seem very interested in the outcome of the case or about the case itself that much. She contacted the lawyer thinking it would be a good idea to meet and go over things however he said he would handle it and they would discuss things on the court date.

Her brother has a long list of criminal/violent back ground. His record is (3 times theft 2 times drugs 3 times family violence)

In fact he just got out for putting his hands on his ex girlfriend (which he has a kid with) his ex girlfriend had a restraining order placed on him.

My girlfriend has all the records of him proving his violent history along with all the damage has has done at home. Such as holes in walls, broken door, even broke his moms windshield on car.

My girlfriend doesn't have anything on her record. What should be her strategy in this case to get this cleared from her name. Even getting probation for this is a punishment she doesn't deserve and will be on her record. Its already affecting her getting a job now that she graduated medical school. She plans to continue in the health industry and become a registered nurse however if this pending Class A misdemeanor is not cleared she will not be able to continue that.

What is the best steps she can take to get this cleared? The case is her vs the state. Her brother dropped the charges.

The cause has been reset 2 times and is set to go back March 20, 2012 after they investigate.

Thanks so much for taking time time to read this long situation


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search