New York  |  Employment Law

question bubble
2/09/12, 10:59 am

Legal Question


Good afternoon,

Does an employer have the right to reprimand or terminate an employee if they submit a question or suggestion into a 'suggestion box' with the illusion of anonymity? The employee is submitting a question or suggestion, posed as a question, to an "ask the director" suggestion application on our intranet. This suggestion does not list Name, Email address or any other identifying information as required fields thus leaving the employee to believe that their question will be asked anonymously.

At no point is there any information stating that the questioner will be identified, nor is there any specific wording stating that they have true anonymity. However with the option to omit the fields that would identify the user, the illusion of anonymity exists.

Is there any legal standing by the employee to defend their position against their management?

The question/suggestion was not defamatory, derogatory, or inappropriate or belligerent in any way, the management just does not agree with the outlook held by the employee.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search