Indiana  |  Elder Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/11/12, 2:49 pm

i have a grandmother who is elderly and has some serious health issues. She has lived in her apartment for 20 years and she needs a lot of things done to the apartment to make in healthier and livable with her conditions. I have asked the landlord about fixing some of the things that I think are important for her health and was told that they do not have a maintenance man at this time and will not be able to take care of some of the issues until she moves out. Where do I need to look to find the laws on these things and get complete answers as to what i can do.

1 Answer


Answered on: 4/12/12, 3:34 pm by Kenneth Wilk

You do not have the right to make any changes to a rental property without the landlord's approval. If you work out an agreement, IN WRITING, with the landlord that you can make specific changes and improvements at your cost, you can then do so. IT might be a good idea however to shop around for a new apartment which would more meet your grandmother's needs.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen 275 Joliet Street, Suite 330 Dyer, IN 46311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search