California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/13/12, 11:00 am

My grandmother was left a house in my stepgrandfathers will. Upon her death it is to be divided 50/50 amongst his children. Both children have died and my grandmother is still alive. Does she own the house out right now or would it go to the children of the deceased niether of whom left a will. We live in California

4 Answers


Answered on: 4/13/12, 11:19 am by Jennifer Rouse

It depends on what your step-grandfather provided as an alternate distribution in his Will.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Meissner Joseph & Palley 1555 River Park Drive, Ste 108 Sacramento, CA 95815

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/13/12, 11:21 am by Michele Cusack

It depends on the terms of your stepgrandfather's will, but my guess is that the house will go to his grandchildren on your grandmother's death.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Pollak & Cusack 1701 Novato Blvd. Suite 304 Novato, CA 94947

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/13/12, 11:55 am by Anthony Roach

I agree with Ms. Cusack. It sounds as though your grandmother was left a life estate. I would have to read the terms of the will to be sure.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/13/12, 1:45 pm by Gary R. White

Take all the papers to an attorney and get an answer not speculation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Burton & White 1325 Howe Avenue, Suite 214 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search