California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
3/03/11, 1:10 pm

Legal Question


When my grandparents passed on I was included in the inheritance. I received ½ the funds now and ½ when I’m 40 (I’m 32 now) The monies are sitting in stocks and bonds which doesn’t make me too comfortable. My mother is the Trustee and said she would invest however I wanted her too. I know I can put the money into a CD or something like that, or leave it in the stocks, the attorney did say if I wanted to invest it in something risky that my mother would need to sign and I would need to sign a form saying I knew the risks and I didn’t hold her responsible.

My question is can I invest in Real Estate? More specifically can I pay into my mortgage and have the trust put a lien on that portion until I’m 40, so in essence I do not have access to those funds until then.

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search