California | Investment Law
Legal Question
do great grand children automatically get a piece of an estate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
If I were limited to a "yes" or "no" answer, it would have to be NO.
However, in certain limited situations, depending upon who else is around and alive to inherit, great-grandchildren would be in line to receive part of an intestate estate. This is all handled in the California Probate Code, e.g. section 6402, which covers a lot of the rules for intestate estates.
I note you have an out-of-state Zip code, so I'll also mention that as a community-property state, California gives substantial weight to whether property in an estate was "community" or separate property before the death. Community property generally goes entirely to the spouse or registered domestic partner of the decedent.
Generally speaking, families are better off doing estate planning rather than allowing the automatic rules take effect. This assures accurate distribution regardless of who is surviving at the decedent's death, minimum give-up to the tax collectors, and maximum avoidance of probate proceedings (if well done, of course). |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Mark A. Tepper P.A.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-11
Search Questions and Answers


