Oklahoma | Family Law
Legal Question
I have had guardianship of my grandson for 3 years. Can I adopt him since his parents have never supported him.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bob Adcox |
The short answer is yes. The law states taht if the natural parents fail to support the child in 12 of the past 14 months (or maintain contact during that period of time) you can do an adoption without the consent of the parents (also caled a AWOC). There is as you might guess a lot of paperwork involved. You should probably consult with a attorney. Good Luck. Bob Adcox |
Top Attorneys in OK
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Mohanty Means, P.C.
Norman, OK
Questions Answered: 272
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-31
Kurt M. Kennedy,Attorney at Law
Tulsa, OK
Questions Answered: 196
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-08
Bob Adcox, Attorney At Law
Broken Arrow, OK
Questions Answered: 71
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
The Law Office of John H. Graves, PLLC
Moore, OK
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-09
Hall, Estill, Hardwick, Gable, Golden & Nelson, P.C.
Tulsa, OK
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-08
McFarland Law Office
Okemah, OK
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-20
Sharon Cole Jones, Esq.
Tulsa, OK
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-03-01
Law Offices of Carlos L. Williams
Tulsa, OK
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-14
Mazaheri Law Firm, PLLC
Oklahoma City, OK
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-10
Search Questions and Answers


