California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/25/11, 6:06 pm

Legal Question


You guys are great!

I was looking at two property deeds. One deed is a grant deed (GIFT). It says there is no documentary transfer tax due. No consideration. This is a gift. It reads that it costs $20.00 for a recording fee.

The other deed is a grant deed. It was to go into a Trust. There is no documentary tax due on this one either, but it shows the recording fee is only $10.00. Why does the gift deed cost $20.00 to record and the other deed cost only $10.00?

Does it cost extra to record a deed if there are two people on the same deed? Thank you for your expertise.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search