Pennsylvania | Insurance Law
Legal Question
what would happen if you are asked to babysit a couples dog + they leave for the weekend + lets say the house would catch fire or the dog would get sick or die? What liabilities would come upon the person just bein nice?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Solomon |
So long as you are not doing the dog sitting as a business, any harm that comes to the dog while under your care should be covered by homeowners' insurance--either yours, if the dog sitting is done in your home--or theirs if the dog sitting is done in their home. Under any circumstances, in PA dogs are treated as chattels or personal property, and the damages recoverable if something happened to the dog are the monetary value of the dog, if it dies, or the vet bills if he becomes sick or injured. If you are doing doing this as a business, you would need special insurance. If you are going to dog sit at your home, and don't have homeowner's insurance, make sure that the dog's owners know this, and in the best of circumstances (which you might not feel comfortable with) have them sign a paper that they will not hold you responsible for anything that happens to the dog while he is in your custody. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Richard K. Teitell, Esquire, P.C.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Senker Law Office
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Questions Answered: 235
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


