California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
5/16/11, 10:13 am

Legal Question


Hello,

I have a question involving San Diego Unified School District.

I' am currently an 18 year old Senior at a SDUSD's High School.

Earlier today I was assigned a research project, I chose a topic relating to LGBT (Lesbia, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) rights.I had searched topics such as: "LGBT news in San Diego, and LGBT coming out stories." I was shocked to see that almost every site I had wanted to see was blocked. I was a little angry, considering none of the pages had anything even mildly inappropriate. I did a little more research and then typed in the title of a popular show "Jersey shore." Since the show is mostly about sex, alcohol, and violence, I thougth it would be blocked; it turns out i was wrong. Every site including the ones titled "Jersey Shore Sexcapades" was completely available for viewing. Even if the LGBT sites i wanted to see had anything involving sexual acts, why was I able to see things related to Heterosexual sex? Is it appropriate to see Heterosexual sex in schools, but wrong to see homosexual? I honestly think if they wanted to keep things 'Fair" they woul block things involving both homosexual and heterosexual adult lifestyles? I believe the Dsitrict is discriminatin against LGBT rights. Now for my question, is there anyway possible I can sue or somehow take the district to court for this type of discrimination?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search