Virginia  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/17/12, 3:13 pm

Hello:

I have a question in reference to my working rights. I am employed at a law firm through a temp agency. The law firm pays their employees' lunch hours so technically they only work 7 hours per day. This is what I was told was going to happen for me as well. For the last 4 weeks I have been paid for 40 hours (35 hrs worked, 5 hours for lunch). Today, I was told that I do not get my lunch hour paid because I am a temp and that I am not allowed to get over 40 hours per week. Basically I was cut down to only getting 35 hours per week. Is there a law or statute that obligates the employer to continue to pay me as I were before? I was working under the assumption that I was supposed to get 40 hours and no one said different until today. I feel that I should be obligated to something. Please respond. Thank you

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search