California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
4/12/11, 8:16 pm

Legal Question


Hello,

I have been a very successful, iconic employee at a multi billion dollar company. We have been downsizing our department which may be outsourced.

I would like to stay as long as possible with the company and have applied for a position that has been traditionally staffed by young women. I am by far the most qualified person-can the company not hire me because of my male gender, ethnicity or age (slightly over 40)?

Secondly, if we do get downsized, what sort of attorney should I retain to negotiate terms? I do not want to agree to non-disclosure, or to not work for a competitor as my knowledge and experience would be very valuable to a competitor-unless the company would be willing to negotiate. Also, a behind the scenes book about this well loved and despised company could be lucrative.

Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search