Illinois | Real Estate Law
12/19/11, 11:56 am
Legal Question
hi
if i refinance my home lone once,can i forclosore on the property
hi
if i refinance my home lone once,can i forclosore on the property
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Messutta |
? If your question is can you prevent a foreclosure by refinancing (or loan modification), the answer is it depends on whether you will be paying the lender off in full or not or if the lender is agreeable to take less or not. If so, great and you could be a lucky one. If not, not unless the lender agrees to something else like a short sale, in which case you are selling, not refinancing. This also assumes this is Illinois property, the lender has not filed for foreclosure OR has filed and it is still less than 90 days after filing (a grace period). HOWEVER you had best get an attorney involved, because keeping the current lender from filing for foreclosure, or from taking a judgment in foreclosure and wiping you out, can be VERY tricky. Among other things, the refinancing (or loan modification) department may NOT be talking to the foreclosure department and none of them may be talking to the foreclosure attorneys, and things can really get complicated. |
|
Read More Answered By: Burton Padove |
I am not sure what you are asking. Can you please repost with more details.
Thank you |
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7333
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3774
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2175
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 1718
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Roselle, IL
Questions Answered: 1079
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-30
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
► I am not an attorney and I am representing myself in court. The attorney that I...
► I have been sued and so I'm a defendant -- do I have to file an appearance in order...
► I own a condo unit and since I've lost my job and therefore, unable to continue with...
► I was not a co-signer on the lease. i was only listed as an occupantI have a...
► I have a question about a commercial propery that I leased with a man that I didnt...
► I live in Illinois and own a condominium unit and since I have been unemployed and...
► Waiving Homestead Rights Is it common practice to name a spouse as a plantiff to...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press