Wisconsin | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Hi,
My car was reposessed after I went into default. The loan was turned over to a debt collection agency that has been garnishing my wages for the past six months. As of last month, I have recieved no statements from them. I called them to get a statement and recieved one that said the amount of last payment and the balance due, nothing else.
I called them again and asked for a statement that would show current payment, payments to date, balance due, interest rate and how interest was calculated. I was told by their attorney that they would not do this. He then said that they were calculating interest at 12% per annum on a daily basis. I asked him to send me this in writing and he said he never sends anything in writing. This smells fishy.
What are my rights as to this information and how should I pursue this matter?
Thank you in advance for you time.


