New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
I was hired as an hourly employee and recently I was told my employment status is "full-time exempt". I was asked to sign a form stating that I agree to these terms and classification. When I asked how is it determined if an employee is exempt or non-exempt, I was told if you get paid for 40 hours per week, you are exempt. I was also told that even though I'm paid based o 40 hrs/wk at a given hourly rate, that the rate is derived from an annual salary and our payroll company is not able to track vacation, personal or sick time unless it is broken down to an hourly rate. Does this sound right?


