California  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
8/26/11, 9:44 am

Legal Question


My hired lawyer told me I w not needed in court and handled my battery charge, pleading guilty to a disturbing the peace bargain, with my permission. He said, "It will be like 'nothing'", and I got a letter from his office telling me I had a $600 fine and I was okay with that. My docket arrived from the court, in the mail, telling me I also had 3 yrs probation and a 4th waver. This is ruining my life. I cannot sleep, anxiety attacks--the battery was self defense, but the lawyer said I would save $300 an hour x 3 days in court if I just took the disturbing the peace, so i did, He never mentioned my rights would be stripped! Can I appeal this and on what grounds? I never went to court, in 5 appearances, at his request. I had no idea! I didn't do anything wrong to deserve this! I am a basket case! I only have a week left to appeal if I can.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search