Texas  |  Business Law

question bubble
8/26/11, 12:26 pm

Legal Question


I was hired to start a new division of a gentleman's company. The division I started was an online e-commerce website. Once the business launched, I was terminated because he lost his license to conduct the main division of his company and he could no longer pay my salary.

I have since considered and am interested in starting my own ecommerce business selling the same products I was selling with his business. I have contacted vendors we used to get price quotes. Those vendors contacted my former employer to tell them that I contacted them. My employer informed me today that his attorney will be sending me a cease and desist letter and has grounds to sue me if I start my business.

I never signed a non-compete agreement and never verbally or in writing agreed to not engage in a similar business.

Does he have ground to make these accusations? Does he have a case for a lawsuit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search