Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
I have been hired at a Vet clinic in Silver Spring MD and the owner/Vet made me sign a contract on my first day of work stating that if I ever quit and I do not give a two week notice before quiting I must pay him $1,000.00 cash as a penalty or I could not continue working at his clinic. I am a hourly employee doing admin work for his clinic. Is this illegal? What can I do to make him stop making me and the other employees sign this self written contract. The document was not written by an attorney and it was not notarized or signed by a witness. Just him and I on the signature line. Help.


