California  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
12/22/11, 6:18 pm

Legal Question


Hi,

We bought a rental property but previous owner refused to transfer tenant's security deposit over to us so we took them to court. They filed a counter suit claiming we owe them property management fees. The judge awarded us $3573 (the security deposit amount + a portion of the june's rent they collected from tenant). The judge also awarded them $430 for management fees on their claim. Now they filed an appeal. Will they be able to bring up the management fees again at the appeal hearing? They have no legal basis for not transferring the security deposit over to us (to new owner/landlord). Do I have to fight their management fees claim again?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search