New Jersey  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/30/12, 3:04 pm

Legal Question


I have a home listed for yearly rental with a Realtor in New Jersey. The contract i signed indicates the Realtor's commission is an amount equal to the first month's rent ("finder's fee" is indicated in quotes). Nothing else in the paperwork refers to the commission. Now that a prospective tenant has been found, the Realtor has indicated that "yearly rental" implies I must pay them this finders fee each time I renew the lease with this tenant in the future. Is that truely what "yearly rental" means in a contract between a landlord and his realtor? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search