Illinois | Employment Law
Legal Question
If a hospital in Illinois requires the nurses to wear a certain color brand or style of uniform, is the employer required to pay for it or provide a clothing allowance to the employee?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Betty Tsamis |
If the clothing item is not of such a specialty that it can be worn outside of work, the employer is not required to pay for it Here is the law:
Section 300.840 Uniforms Required by an Employer
An employer shall not deduct the cost of purchasing and/or cleaning uniforms required by the employer from an employee's wages or final compensation, unless the employee's express written consent is given freely at the time the deduction is made. Distinctive outfits or accessories, or both, intended to identify the employee with a specific employer shall be considered a uniform. If an employer requires a general type of ordinary basic street clothing to be worn, but permits variations in the detail of dress, this shall not be considered a uniform. However, when an employer requires that an employee purchase street clothes either from the employer or from a third party designated by the employer, the clothing shall be considered a uniform.
Tsamis Law Firm PC www.tsamislaw.com Employment * Personal Injury * Civil Rights
|
Top Attorneys in IL
www.looplawfirm.com
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Tsamis Law Firm PC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 491
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Rosenblat & Associates, Ltd.
Northbrook, IL
Questions Answered: 437
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
The S.E. Farris Law Firm
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-22
Zedrick Braden III
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-11-11
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Search Questions and Answers


