Pennsylvania | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
my husband has a civil hearing on thursday for a credit card debt. how should we proceed with thisit is not over limitations i do believe this is our debt but not sure is there andthing we can do to represent ourselves thank you
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
You should have obtained legal help a long long time ago when you were sued. Before suit was brought, you had the right to ask for verification of the debt. Creditors may or may not provide it. However, once you are sued, you have the right to request this in discovery, which consists of interrogatories (written questions), depositions (where the attorney asks questions of you or you ask questions of a representative of the credit card company) or you ask the credit card company to produce documents.
The statute of limitations is 4 years in Pennsylvania, provided that the debt was created while you were in Pennsylvania. The 4 years begins to run when you first stopped paying on the card.
Did your husband file an answer and deny the debt was his? What is the hearing for? A motion for summary judgment? Motion for default? An arbitration or small claims matter? These are all different ways of the credit card company obtaining a judgment and my advice would vary based on what type of proceeding this is. If its a default judgment hearing, you would have to have an excuse for not filing an answer. Not being able to afford an attorney or not knowing what to do is not a legitimate excuse in the eyes of the court. If its a summary judgment hearing, then you have to prove to the court that there exists a disputed issue of fact for trial based on the complaint, answer and any relevant discovery. For example, the credit card company claims you owe $10,000 on the debt and you have documentation disputing this and showing that you only owe $4,000. If this is an arbitration or small claims matter, you might be able to ask questions of the witness - there will have to be one. However, I have not seen a credit card case get this far.
Litigation is generally a waste of time unless this is not your debt, the statute of limitations has expired or you have some other valid defense. If this is your debt, you are better off trying to settle the debt rather than fight in court as the credit card company will get a judgment against you whether you show up and fight or not.
If you are interested in resolving the debt outside of court, please contact my office.
Admitted in Georgia, North Carolina & Pennsylvania
Toll free: (800)-893-3713 Office: (919)-653-8173 Mobile (after 6 pm): (678)-687-9693 Email: rachelforjustice@hotmail.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: Greg Artim |
I think that the previous answer is way off base. For the attorney to say that you are going to lose whether you show up or not is dead wrong. There are many factors involved, such as whether the original creditor is the one who is suing you, or whether the debt has been sold. In addition, it really matters as to which attorney is representing that company. Some collection attorneys are downright horrible. I handle credit card cases, about 40 per month, and I offer a free review of your matter. Contact my office prior to the hearing for a free case review. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Hunter Law Office
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2700
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Search Questions and Answers


