North Carolina | Family Law
9/21/11, 8:48 pm
Legal Question
my husband commited adultery is there any way that i can get a divorce without waiting a year
my husband commited adultery is there any way that i can get a divorce without waiting a year
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
Not in North Carolina. North Carolina is a no-fault state. No-fault means just that - the state does not care who did what during the marriage.
If you don't want to wait, you can establish residency in another state. Most states have a residency period of 6 months (except Nevada, which has a much shorter residency period) and then you can file for divorce if the state has no waiting period. Also, if your husband is in another state, you may be able to file in that state. Also, if you are a member of the military, you can file either in the state where you are stationed or in your state of residence. |
|
Read More Answered By: Aaron Suero Pedersini |
If your husband is willing to sign the necessary documents and you are able to fly for one day to appear in person before the judge on the day of the hearing, than you can file for a Fast divorce in the Dominican Republic and get a divorce in approx 15 business days.
Under the special divorce law 142, foreign citizens not residing in the country, that are in consent to file for a divorce; and at least one of them appears in person at the hearing, can obtain a fast divorce in Dominican Republic.
For additional information on the Dominican fast divorce for foreign citizens, please visit the following websites:
The Embassy of the United States on Divorce by mutual consent for US citizens (bottom of the page); http://santodomingo.usembassy.gov/divorce_dr_mc.html
The Fastest Way to Get Divorced: http://www.dfastdivorce.com
The U.S. Department of State on divorces overseas; http://travel.state.gov/law/family_issues/divorce/divorce_592.html
The Dominican Republic Embassy in Washington, DC: http://www.domrep.org/divorce.html
|
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Jacksonville, NC
Questions Answered: 106
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Wilmington, NC
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-30
Greensboro, NC
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-01
Huntersville, NC
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-25
New Bern, NC
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-11-14
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
► 'Hi, I was just wondering if an 18 yr. old files a petition to dissol…
► Can I get an annulment if ive only been married for 3 months?
► Good Evening, Trying to find out if you are living in North Carolina, unmarried with...
► My 7 yr old sons father was not in his life he was on child support but paid it...
► How can i get a divorce without the other person signing the papers?
► I am not actually divorced yet but my son has an outstanding hospital bill of $500....
► In North Carolina, if a child is born to parents unwilling to keep the baby, can...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in North Carolina| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press