Pennsylvania | Wills and Trusts
10/20/11, 3:43 pm
Legal Question
What if my husband dies and doesn't have a will? We both had children from a prevoius marriage and 1 child together.
What if my husband dies and doesn't have a will? We both had children from a prevoius marriage and 1 child together.
|
Read More Answered By: Hillary Snyder |
According to the laws in Pennsylvania, 1/2 of your husband's estate would go to you, and 1/2 would be divided between his children.
Now, keep in mind, only assets that are in his sole name, and do not include a beneficiary designation would be included in his estate.
I hope this helped.
If you have additional questions, or need a Will. Please feel free to contact me at Hillary@HillarySnyder.com, of 412.904.4469. |
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
All states have intestacy laws and Pennsylvania is no exception. Typically, the assets are divided between the surviving spouse and your husband's biological/adopted children. Your children do not inherit from your husband unless he is the father of those children.
What Attorney Snyder indicated is correct. Intestate (no will) estates is only concerned with probate assets. Things that are non-probate, beneficiary designated assets are not affected at all. This covers things like IRAs/pension/retirement benefits, life insurance, land owned by you and your husband as a tenancy by the entireties or joint tenancy with right of survivorship (in other words, as husband and wife) or joint bank accounts held the same way.
I don't know what you and your husband own or how its titled. Regardless, this is a perfect time for both you and your husband to meet with an estate planning lawyer to discuss the disposition of your assets, your estate planning goals and whether you should have a will or trust.
|
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2693
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Harrisburg, PA
Questions Answered: 2656
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
North Versailles, PA
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
► Are the heirs responsible for their parents mortgage debt when the parents pass...
► Regarding pennsylvania's intestac laws, if there are adult children and minor...
► My friendhas no children. I am the only person listed in his will. If i die before...
► How do i change the execator of my will. I have a will already but would like to...
► My Great Aunt passed away in this last year. She had no will. My uncle and mother...
► According to our Attorney, In regards to inheritance, all bills are paid, executor...
► Thank you racheal hunter. A special directive is in my mothers will. Directing...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press