Minnesota  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/28/12, 7:22 am

My husband and I are getting a divorce after 32+ years of marriage. We are keeping the divorce amicable. We have a high net-worth and have identified how we are splitting everything up. We have two houses, both have equivalent contents and both have the same county market value, which is what we used for the value. There is a large sum of money in savings, investments, and IRAs that were also split. We left IRA's in each persons name and offset with other assets (less liabilities) to keep everythig 50/50. Because my IRA's are considerably higher in value than my spouse, he ended up to the majority of the cash in our savings. He cannot live at the lakehome because of the distance from his work. He is now asking me to cover 1/2 of his moving expenses, including things he will need to buy in order to have a place to live in the cities. He says that these are things that should be covered as part of the divore. I don't agree. We are splitting everything 50/50. Are moving expenses and ammenities my spouse will need to live in the cities usually split by both spouses, or is my spouse asking for too much. I do want to do what is fair, and it seems to me that since we are both financially well off, that the 50/50 split of our assets less our liabilities is fair.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search