Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
I believe my husband fathered a child by another woman while we were married. Can I ask for paternity testing? What are my rights to know in this situation?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Damon Ryals |
You may certainly request a paternity test, particularly as part of a divorce proceeding, but because a third party is involved, Courts will be highly reticent to order the third party do undergo their part of test. If you can persuade the other woman to pursue child support, a court will order a paternity test right away. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Scott Law Office
Headland, AL
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-02
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Lowe & Myer
Alexander City, AL
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 1999-01-04
Search Questions and Answers


