Illinois | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
My husband & I filed Chapter 7 Bankruptcy in 2005 and it was legally discharged late 2005. On our list of creditors, our mortgage was included accidentally with the Mortgage company that we had at that time but we just found out in Dec. 2011. We were still paying our mortgage until March 2011 even though it had been transferred to several companies. We have been served with Court Foreclosure documents by the Mortgage company who is currently carrying the mortgage. One of the questions within the documents which we have to file an answer for says: Names of the persons claimed to be personally liable for deficiency: NONE. Also on the 3 Credit Reporting Bureaus, only one has our mortgage listed. The other 2 has it discharged in the 2005 Bankruptcy. Is it possible to just walk away from this situation or do we need to do a deed in-lieu of the property?


