Minnesota  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
7/12/11, 7:53 am

Legal Question


My husband and I are in the final stages of a short sale and the 2nd mortgage company has agreed to accept $6000 however will proceed to issue a judgement for the remaining balance owed plus all of their legal fees. We've attempted to negotiate and they indicated that a 0% interest loan paid over the course of 15 years would settle. Either way, we must sign a form at closing reflecting what we've chosen. If we sign this form at the closing, can we turn around and file Chapter 7? Neither the original note or the new promissory note indicate that we cannot file after signing but we want to make sure that it doesn't indicate we've taken on new debt. I can provide both the letters and the new new note.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search