Maryland  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
9/16/11, 8:05 am

Legal Question


My husband was hurt on his job and lost a third of his finger due to fauly equipment. He had a reattachment of the finger and was out 6 weeks for the healing of it. It did not work and had to be amputated and then he was out 8 weeks for the healing. He had a lawyer represent him and the lawyer has him trying to settle. He gets 5,000 and the lawyer gets 22% of it and it stays a open case if he has a problem later in life. This did not cover our house hold expences during these times and we were blessed that we have a savings that we were able to cover but took 6,000 of our own money to cover household during this time. This is our retirement money we saved and cannot get back right away with this economy. Does this settlement with workmans comp. sound fair to you?. It was the loss on his wedding finger and he cannot wear a ring because of the numbness and also he is uncomfortable that the ring would make the loss stand out more. I am angry about this and not understanding how such a little amount is fair for him and I.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search