Massachusetts  |  Employment Law

question bubble
1/14/11, 12:47 pm

Legal Question


My husband is being laid off by his current employer. He works for a business process outsourcing company. He is an account manager placed within a law firm. His employer currently lost the bid to renew the contract - and they have no where else to place him -which is why he is getting laid off.

The new outsourcing company coming in to the law firm he was working at - has offered him a job.

When he was told he was getting laid off - his employer told him they would pay him a severance package. Now they feel because he may work for this other company - and they feel that they are the reason he is getting this new job - they are not willing to issue him his severance package.

Is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search