Oregon  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
1/25/12, 1:31 pm

Legal Question


my husband is a legal resident of the US and when he was in his 20's he had charges that were filed against him.. 17 yrs late he is picked up by ice for the charges.. we were told by the judge since we had been engaged for 3 yrs he was giving us 90 days to marry and file and i-130 , we got a lawyer.. we were married with in the time frame we were given, but our lawyer never filed the paperwork and then asked for a change of venue and without our knowledge she asked to be removed from our case(after the judge in Washington state told her she must finish and follow this case till the end).. so the change in venue was her way of getting out of it.. on his third master hearing in portland oregon she blinde sided us by asking to be removed from the case.. my husbands last hearing is tomorrow and we just found out this week she never sent the i-130 in or the g-325 .. on top of that she never filed anything never did any work and took our money leaving us with nothing, along with quiting she has since been disbarred. I need to find out if there is any way we can get and extension on his case so that we can file the proper paperwork , get out tax returns back so we can hire a new lawyer and start this again.. and since she did make a change in venue does this means the process starts over and he can get all 4 hearings or is this his last and final one?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search