Kansas  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/09/12, 10:13 am

My husband and I lived in a duplex for 7 years. After moving out, the landlord wants us to recarpet the entire duplex and pay for repainting the walls, along with some other minor repairs. There were some minor repairs that we know needed to be completed so we did not ask for our deposit back ($500), but now he's threatening to sue for thousands of dollars, I'm assuming the biggest chunk of that being the carpet. Can he really sue for carpet that is 10+ years old? It was used carpet when we moved in.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search