Illinois | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My husband & I would have been married 27 years this past December 29th. He was very ill the last 3 years of his life with lung cancer. I cared for him of course not knowing he planned to leave & move in with his sister when he was close to death, .that was his plan. He died 2 weeks after moving into my sister-in-laws home. She kept his passing a secret until she had the funeral & filed his death certificate. It took me 2 months to get a copy as I had to wait for it to be put into the computer system at the courthouse. Upon receiving a copy my sister-in-law stated on the death certificate ,separated ,in the married section & listed my maiden name. Is that legal? This has caused me unending problems ....is this considered separated? I discovered an e-mail from the cousin who is an attorney advising them to keep his passing a secret and to let the hospice service inform me by sending the usual condolence card as they claimed I intended to do something with his remains....what I have no idea. I believe this was done so she could file his death certificate this way..I learned of his passing by receiving a card from the hospice who cared for him up until his passing. I believe there is hidden assets as well. What are my rights?


